top of page

Adventures Await

Updated: Jun 12, 2020



There is so much conflict, worry, and change happening in the news and all around us right now. Its so easy to see everything happening in the news and feel yourself be washed over with feelings of pain and dread for the next day, and the days after. What horrible story will be played out next in the media next, locust invasions? ... rivers running red with blood?? ... darkness stretching for three days ??? Its no wonder that when we see people in the stores and in public that worry lines seem to be etched ever so lightly at the edges of their smiles.


In my house, those worry lines are etched on the edges of even my own daughters beautiful face.


My daughter is starting to get incredibly restless right now, being stuck at home and on the farm. She has plenty of space to roam, however she will always find a fence at some point and for restless spirits such as ours that can be very disheartening. With everything from COVID to riots, we are unable to go very far right now and it is definitely wearing on myself and my daughter. So, if you follow me on social media at all then you are probably aware that my daughter and I love to go on adventures to various small towns in the rocky mountains. We love to meet people, ask for restaurant ideas from local residents, small town shows, music festivals, farmers markets and etc. All we can do right now reminisce about our travels and re live some of the adventures.


Last night as the sun was setting on another east Texas evening, I peered in my daughters room to see if she was asleep yet. Surprisingly I found her sitting up in bed, blankly staring at the wall. She caught my eye and gave me a half hearted smile, one of the smiles that didn't reach her eyes. So I went in to sit on the edge of her bed and see what she was thinking about. She sighs deeply and looks at me, "Mom I miss adventuring somewhere other than our farm." I replied with a sympathy, "me too baby." I scooted her over in her bed and crawled in next to her so she could bury her face in the crook of my arm while I rubbed her hair. "Momma, do you remember when we went dog sledding?" "Oh yes my love, and the look of amazement in your eyes when we reached the summit is not something I will ever forget for as long as I live." She exhales deeply and snuggles in closer "Momma, when we got to the summit and looked out over the mountain ranges I swear I could see angels playing in heaven." Good Lord almighty, its so hard not to get choked up when she is waxing poetic about being in the mountains. "Yes baby, I do believe that Heaven probably looks a lot like where we were at." She peers up at me over sleep heavy lids, "Can we go back one day when all the chaos is over?" I whisper softly back "Of course baby, now go to sleep and dream of all the adventures we will have one day."


Dear Daughter,


"We live in a wonderful world that is full of beauty, charm and adventure. There is no end to the adventures we can have if only we seek them with our eyes open." - Jawaharial Nehru


Love,

Mom





37 views0 comments
bottom of page